A Courage Unknown

This week my father came down for my daughters ceremony and a visit. During his visit he shared some things I never knew about him.
He was the second Iranian student to graduate from the University of Oregon School of Architecture. He told me most foreign students that attended school at this time stayed in the circle of their foreign friends or stayed to themselves. Instead my father made many American friends most he stayed in touch with of worked with later in life.
He started his own very successful architecture firm in Iran, but when my mom moved back to the states with me and my siblings my father left his firm and came to live here. A hard time for an Iranian man to find any job as it was in the midst of the revolution. But he did not give up. Samples of his work, awards received he was out most everyday looking for work or taking odd jobs to make ends meet. He later landed a very successful place in Tacoma with BLRB and landed many awards for the firm because of his amazing school designs.
I have always felt close to my father. He took me hiking many times in Iran and in Oregon. Usually with sketch book in hand so he could stop and make a quick sketch of something along the hike. He sometimes turned his sketch into a beautiful painting. He also took me to fish. He had no idea what he was doing but I remember it was very fun.
Happy Fathers Day to my dad. I hope you have a wonderful day. Thanks for showing me the inner courage and kindness you posess. Love you.

20120617-090533.jpg

20120617-090624.jpg

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Courage Unknown

  1. Madhu says:

    What a lovely tribute to your father!

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

