House Fire

20120831-221458.jpg

Labor day is somewhat of a daunting date for me as it was 16 years ago this weekend my house burned down. Some how the haze in the air today reminds me of that horrible day.
My kids were 4 & 5 and Mads was not conceived yet. We were getting the house picked up as my brother and his former wife were coming down to visit and celebrate my sisters birthday.
I remember smelling smoke in the historic house that was built in 1856, but it wasn’t unusual for where I lived as we lives amongst farms and mint fields that had just started burning their crops and prepping them for the following year.
I had just put my son in the claw foot tub for a bath and my daughter was playing a computer game when I heard someone honking down the long driveway.
I ran outside to see what was going on- they were yelling “YOUR HOUSE IS ON FIRE!”. Of course I looked up and sure enough on the roof flames were shooting up. I ran into the house yelling to my former husband. He tried getting water up there as I callee 911. After I hung up – I grabbed the kids and went outside. It didn’t look super bad from my angle but in fact it was very bad. By this time a large group of cars had stopped along the street and it seemed an eternity before the firemen arrived.
Bubba was naked and Kels was crying so hard that I walked far away so they wouldn’t be able to see. Some kind soul asked if I would like a ride to see if I could call my mom. I remember leaving with this lady sort of in shock. We got to her house and I called my mom. Soon my mother came to this strangers house and picked me and the kids up. I asked mom to take me to the house in hopes that it would be done burning. I was wrong. I sat or stood by my burning house for 8 hours.
The firemen were hopeful they could stop it with minimal damage but one fireman got injured and they just started asking me where the valuables were so they could throw them out of the burning house for salvage
The smell of the wet smoked items has been etched in my mind forever. That and some of the sounds of that day.
I count my blessings to this day for the volunteer fire fighters, no one injured, memory of my two oldest are minimal at best. Things could have been much worse.
And my apologies to the historical society who was so upset about the house burning down. At least they named the bridge so there is a landmark named after him.

20120831-215852.jpg

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to House Fire

  1. Jody and Ken says:

    So often in life you look at another parent’s tragedy and think “There but for the grace of God..” Glad you got out with your kids, obviously. Did you rebuild, move? Ever figure out what caused the fire? Ken

    • M says:

      Thank you!!! No there ended up being a lawsuit. But the foundation is still there. No house but we did move on!!! Thank you for visiting. I am an avid follower of your blog and love all your photos!!!! Thank you thank you

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

