The Fish were Jumpin

The Cascade Family Fly Fisher’s organized a trip to the Metolius this last weekend. I was so excited it has been two years since I had been to this amazing river.

After setting up camp, we fished from Wizard Falls Hatchery down. There was a fair amount of people out fishing and the weather couldn’t have been more beautiful. The smoke was gone from the recent forest fire and the air was crisp. A few people caught fish that I bumped into on the trail, but my success was notta-zippo-nothing.

Went back to camp, made fire, popped a few hard ciders and made hot dogs and baked beans. I decided to swing a few more times right next to camp just before dark, but still nothing. The moon was full, the stars filled the sky and I had to start layering up. It became chilly fast!!

After I made breakfast and packed up camp I talked to a few of the CFF’s said they had success at Allingham Bridge next to the “log”. I decided this would be the first stop of the day. There were so many fish holding right at the bridge and some very large ones jumping to try to catch the PMD hatch that was happening. I put on a Green Drake and I had a hit right as I cast it on the water. It was large, and I was surprised so I didn’t set the hook in time. I casted a second time and let it float and again got one on, this one I had, I was bringing this beautiful large trout in and fumbling around trying to grab my net and find my phone to capture a picture. Not always the wisest thing to do when you are bringing a larger fish in, so of course just as it was coming to the bank, it swirled off. So many fish down there, I could see them clear as a bell.

Although I have no fishing pictures to share, I do have a great memory of how my season ended this year. It was a positive year of fishing. I am excited and hopeful to explore new territory next year.

And of course Teddy had a great time chasing the chipmunks and running into the river for an occasional cool off.  He didn’t stay in very long, but he was smiling as big as I was to be out of the house.

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fish were Jumpin

  1. LG says:

    One of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. I was mesmerized by the river with all of it’s natural beauty.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

