Family

20121021-170522.jpg

Today we celebrated my mothers 72nd birthday.
The dark dreary days didn’t stop me somehow mustering up everyone to come and share cake, Ice cream and apple cider.
My lovely uncles even drove down from Portlandia to celebrate her. Not only had they come, but their wives, my sister and family, my kids and my grandson to fill her living room with warmth and laughter.
I so enjoy talking with my Uncles as they share their fishing adventures. I grew up fairly close to them when we first moved to the States, but after my grandparents passed away, my mom was angry and I lost this connection. As the years have passed they have retired and my mom has forgiven so visits have been more frequent.
These two uncles of mine -my mothers younger brothers are not the young strapping farmers and business owners they once were. I could see their age today, there was a sense in the room that visits may become fewer with age and health. Sort of realizing no one is what they once were, but also not forgetting to recall the mischief they once all got into.
So important to stay close to your family. No matter what unresolved issues there may be from the past. Just somehow forgive and love if possible.
She felt so cherished and it was so lovely watching her smile.

Love you Mom! Love you Dad! And loves to all my Aunts, Uncles, Brother, Sisters, Step Mom, my kids, Cousins, Nieces, Nephews and of course my grandson!!!!!

20121021-170503.jpg

20121021-170610.jpg

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Family

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    Wonderful! Happy Birthday to your mother!

  2. Glad everyone had a good time. You’re right…life is short. Enjoy it!

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

