Open Coal Desserts

My fly fishing club knows how to do an outing.

While I was getting my waders on I could smell charcoal heating up. I wandered over to see what was going on and two of the guys that had come along were making two Dutch Pan desserts for everyone to enjoy.

The first dessert was a peach dump cake. It had fresh peaches and a bit of lemon and brown sugar on the bottom and then he mixed a cake mix and poured it on top. He then put the lid on and piled charcoal over the lid and under the pan.

The second dessert was an apple cobbler of sorts with fresh apples, raisins on the bottom and topped with a gooey crumb topping.

So as I went out on the lake I didn’t much think about it again I was focused on fishing and learning how to maneuver a pontoon boat.

About three hours later I came in to get a sandwich and Bill (the gentleman manning the desserts) asked me to come to take a taste. I was cold so gladly agreed to taste something warm.
He scooped a healthy portion on a paper plate for me and then poured a little half and half over the top.

What a Treat!! Warm gooey goodness and it sort of reminded me of camping since the coals were burning and releasing the smell of camping.

20130414-092526.jpg

20130414-092543.jpg

20130414-092600.jpg

20130414-092613.jpg

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Open Coal Desserts

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    Looks delish. I know cooking in a dutch oven isn’t super easy.

  2. vegardfly says:

    Wow…that looks fantastic! I must admit that the menu on my trips are a lot simpler;) Seems like you have great fishing companions as well…

  3. adinparadise says:

    What a treat, and with half and half too. 🙂 We don’t get that in South Africa. 😦

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

