TRUE CONFESSIONS

My Steelhead outing with the Cascade Family FF group was not what I was expecting.

ALSEA22

I got up before the sun and bundled, packed lunch, ate some oatmeal and one cup of coffee and one for the road   I had positive vibes flowing all through me ready to catch my first Steelhead.  ALSEA5

When we arrived at the fish hatchery the sun was shining bright and the road was full of cars…. more anglers than I have ever seen on the river at one time.   EEEEK.   So I put my waders on, boots on and got rod ready for the chance on the river.  By the time I was ready to go the other people from the club announced to me we were moving to a different section of the river because there was no good spots to fish where we were out.  We drove down  stream a bit into this park, and no place to park our cars.  We didn’t even get out of the car, they decided we should move to Clemens Park.  Okay there was two spots left to park so that worked out well.

After using the horrible bathroom I headed to the water edge to scope it out.  Always a good reminder to use the porta potties before you have your waders on….just an fyi ladies.

It was so beautiful, but definitely very low water level.   I casted an egg pattern for a while and then hiked down stream a bit and switched to minnow.  I think I got a bump, but it may have been a stick, unsure.

ALSEA14

ALSEA15

ALSEA18

I did practice using my camera above and below the  water level which was super fun.

but the true confession is the only fish that was seen by me and all other anglers I spoke to were the ones on this sign.

ALSEA24

BUT I HAD SO MUCH FUN… will be back… alone or with my fishing buddies.

ALSEA20

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Fly Fishing, Friends, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TRUE CONFESSIONS

  1. Sometimes it is just great to get out there. I used to be an avid fly fisherman before knee issues took me away from the stream. I very much miss wading in the clear and ice cold waters wrangling brook, brown and rainbow trout in mid-western streams.

    • M says:

      It is so much the peace of stream side. I believe a fish is an added bonus. I’m so sorry about your knee. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  2. Steve Culton says:

    M,

    It took me 40 hours of fishing time to land my first steelhead. My last outing, in November, was over nine hours with two hookups, one landed. Don’t get discouraged. The first steelhead you hook is going to blow your mind. Anything you land is a bonus.

    Steve Culton

    • M says:

      :). Thanks. I think what was blowing my mind was the amount of people fishing in the same area. I have not come across this before. I will go again. For sure!!!

      Thank you for encouraging words.

  3. M. Cisneros says:

    I love that you got out there this year to give it a try. You’ll get one and then you will be hooked for sure!

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

