LIONS AND TIGERS AND AMNESIA….OH MY

tga1Within my chaotic week of working the last week at the restaurant, visiting my dad I realized I had not heard from my mom in a few days. WELL… This is a bit of a concern as I usually hear from her daily.

So driving to work on Thursday evening, I called- speaker phone- to check on her. Well as I was talking to her, she described to me an incident that happened Monday evening.

I recall her stopping by my house briefly Monday late afternoon looking a bit frazzled. She was upset because her drivers side window would not roll up. I unfortunately didn’t have much time to talk to her as I needed to change for work so off she went home.

Apparently when she got home Monday from visiting me and woke up the next afternoon cold laying cock-eyed in her bed. She got up from her bed and she said her body hurt and she was confused, and upon going to the bathroom she looked into the bathroom mirror and discovered she had bruises on her face (black eye and bruising all over the top of her temple). And on the opposite side of her body she had bruises all down the side of her body. She remembers nothing. She doesn’t remember falling, calling, eating or anything for a span of 16-18 hours.

As she explained this to me- I was shocked and of course ended up hitting a parked car in the parking lot of the restaurant. It was someone I knew so that worked out well. (don’t talk and drive).

The minute I clocked out of shift, I went straight to her house to check on her. Well she didn’t look so good. Actually she looked horrible. I wanted to take her straight into the hospital but my mom being stubborn refused. After talking for a bit she agreed to call her doctor first thing in the morning Friday.

Friday came and I received a phone call from my mom that I was to drive her to the ER right away as they wanted to scan her head to make sure she did not have any fractures or bleeding on the brain. We waited for quite a few hours, but after a ten minute conversation with the doctor and a CT scan he came up with a diagnosis of TRANSIENT GLOBAL AMNESIA. This will be the second episode of this and we now have to be referred to a neurologist tomorrow morning.

Transient global amnesia (TGA) is a neurological disorder whose key defining characteristic is a temporary but almost total disruption of short-term memory with a range of problems accessing older memories. A person in a state of TGA exhibits no other signs of impaired cognitive functioning but recalls only the last few moments of consciousness, as well as deeply encoded facts of the individual’s past, such as his or her own name.[1][2]

This will be the last time I tell my mother I am busy and stressed, because this was her reasoning for not calling me.

tga

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Family, health, Peigahi and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LIONS AND TIGERS AND AMNESIA….OH MY

  1. Lilly says:

    Geeze. I am sorry that this is happening. It sounds scary. Try to show yourself mercy and accept grace for trying to prioritize what was best for the moment. I know you didn’t want to not be there if your mom needed you in such a way. A mother’s love is so redeeming.

  2. Happy Bare says:

    Oh my goodness! At least she is well, or as well as can be. All this on top of the work thing too. Be strong. I’m pulling for you.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

