YOU CAST LIKE A GIRL!!!

Says my fishing friend Randy. That was one of his very first comments on our fishing trip last year- I laughed and reminded him- I am a girl!!!

Apparently he has caused a bit of a disruption saying this to other women fly casters in our club.

I will admit the way you cast is key to catching fish. Loading your rod correctly, proper timing, form, do not break the wrist are all useful things to know along with practice practice practice. And how the fly at the end of your tippet lands on the water should mimic a fly landing on water and not a grenade splashing.    But unless it is big water, you won’t be casting a huge distance.  Fish are generally not far from where you are casting.

Last weekend when I fished the Deschutes with Randy and our guide Brad – Randy told the guide to stay close to me and give me instruction. Brad did what he was told and gave some extremely helpful tools in casting in obscure areas and positions.

By the end of our trip Brad told Randy that I was one of the best women fly casters he has ever come across. Ha ha ha on you Randy I was thinking on the inside….I cast like a girl, elegantly with power.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to YOU CAST LIKE A GIRL!!!

  1. Happy Bare says:

    That’s really nice. Do you keep the fish, or return them? Are the hooks barbed? (Is this a stupid question?)

  2. g0ne fishin9 says:

    We don’t get to see many girls fly casting in France, and I think there should be waaaay more, for the sake of us all. I think it would nicely balance some ofthe unpleasant side effects of too much testosterone.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

