NEW SOUNDS

Transitioning to the place I lay my head at night has been very exciting.  After spending a hard hot day working on moving things Saturday I took advantage of the thunderstorm just to stay out at the farm on Sunday.

mourning dove

A day alone on the farm and you realize there are so many different sounds that I am not used to, but one of my favorites is in the evening when the Mourning Doves are calling out to one another.  It is most song like in nature and beautiful.  Sometimes, they make a distinct caw sound which almost sounds like a higher pitched crow.   I had no Doves in my old neighborhood, so this is a treat for me.

This species’ call is a distinctive, plaintive cooOOoo-woo-woo-woooo, uttered by males to attract females, and may be mistaken for the call of an owl at first. (Close up, a grating or throat-rattling sound may be heard preceding the first coo.) Other sounds include a nest call (cooOOoo) by paired males to attract their mates to the nest sites, a greeting call (a soft ork) by males upon rejoining their mates, and an alarm call (a short roo-oo) by either male or female when threatened. In flight, the wings make a fluttery whistling sound that is hard to hear. The wing whistle is much louder and more noticeable upon take-off and landing.

Along with the call of the birds there are large sprinklers irrigating the fields to the Southwest of me.  Sometimes a plane flying overhead getting ready for a landing at the airport a few miles away.    It is so peaceful and I love watching and listening to the birds the most.

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NEW SOUNDS

  1. I love the sound of a mourning dove; I haven’t heard that in sometime…

  2. Happy Bare says:

    I love the sound of morning birds. Such a cacophony they raise.

  3. Jack Flacco says:

    These guys are always at my door, 5:30 in the morning. Love them!

  4. beautiful bird and the sound is haunting.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

