MOVING IS NOT FOR WUSSES

A final push of two more days and I will say goodbye to my duplex which has served me so well the last five years.

When I first moved in five years ago, I did not have much with me.  A bed, television, table, some side tables and dishes.  Of course then Mads was living with me most of the time, so lots of school things and clothing and project things.  miscellaneous games.  My son moved in not too much later and I accumulated some of his things.  Then two roommates later and I find myself making multiple trips to Goodwill and one large load to the local dump.  I am unsure how I could accumulate so many things for the last five years.

The duplex is now mostly empty and I am just doing the final clean-up mopping to return the keys to my landlord.  I also painted most of the walls mainly because two of the bedrooms had different colors and the main living room had smoke from the fireplace.  With the 90+ degrees it has been and no movement of air, it makes it very difficult to quickly finish the tasks listed above.

Yesterday, Jake came by to pick up a box of things I had set aside for him out of the garage, and we both stood in the front yard reflecting on how nice of a transition point the duplex was after my divorce.   Close to parks and schools and work.  I could walk or bike pretty much anywhere from there.

After he left I began to tear up a bit because of so many memories associated with this home.  Good and bad memories (mostly good).  I know this is a huge step for me to take, but one I feel positive about.  Moving is not for WUSSES20110821-075213.jpgMY WIND CHIMES THAT WOULD FILL MY ROOM WITH PRISMS OF BEAUTIFUL LIGHT.

I am hoping to leave the keys on the mantle Friday and go fishing on Saturday and maybe Sunday too.  My body allowing.

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Creative Stuff, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MOVING IS NOT FOR WUSSES

  1. Congratulations on being almost done with a move! It’s funny how we can get emotionally attached to a structure, isn’t it? I’ve moved four times in the past five years and hope to stay put for a little while. Cheers!

  2. Maryam says:

    Reblogged this on A FRESH START and commented:

    Hard to believe it has been a year. I am so blessed

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

