MY 1200 POUND FRIEND

Down on the docks in Charleston, Oregon, I went crabbing for the first time in my life.

Went to the bait shop and purchased tuna heads while Mr. K set up the folding chairs, puppy’s and crab traps.

Between throwing the crab traps down, sitting in the sunshine and sipping bourbon from the flask- my new friend 10538 {I think}, was very curious in our set up on the dock. Well probably the bait, but I choose to think it was me and my kindness to this very cute, very large Sea Lion. Mr. K wanted me to stop being nice as he and others believe them to be a menice, ….but come on.
How can you resist beautiful big eyes staring up at you out of the water? First he would look at me from one angle head slightly turned and then he would change angles. From under water he would just stare straight up at me watching my every movement. I found out later they look at you sideways because their vision is peripheral.

A few times I would walk to the end of the pier to pull one of the traps up to see if we had any crabs and he would appear just below the surface right where I was peering over almost as if he was following me.
Well it became darker and colder and we decided to pack it up, but there was still a bit of bait left. I made the executive decision to make sure my new friend wouldn’t forget about me so I fed him the last of our bait.
Just as I fed him the last piece the harbor guard came by and advised me against feeding these vicious animals. That he could bite my hand off or worse yet pull teddy off the dock and eat him. He said they were quite aggressive.

I just really couldn’t see it in my new friend.

We got a few crabs, but found out later crabbing really starts in December

IMG_4408.JPG

IMG_4411.JPG

IMG_4410.JPG

IMG_4412.JPG

IMG_4413.JPG

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in memories, Peigahi and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to MY 1200 POUND FRIEND

  1. mihrank says:

    wow – well done – congratulations – No words are necessary – The photo is already presenting your wonderful blog! Hope to see more on my blog, I appreciate it!

    http://kmihran.wordpress.com/2014/11/13/mihran-kalaydjian-mino-performing-to-you-alone-piano/

    • Maryam says:

      Thanks dear Friend. I have stopped receiving notifications for some reason

      • mihrank says:

        Maryam – I am glad hearing back from you – There was some technical problem at WP. I am hoping this been resolved. Please let me know if you are receiving my comments? You mat need to confirm you are following me! Thank you!

  2. Maryam
    this is a beautiful sharing – Thank You
    My best to you
    john

  3. wonderful pictures….I wanted to pet the seal

  4. daniellajoe says:

    They may look cute but I would heed the warning..I live in crocodile country and they look harmless too until they are hungry ….

  5. banatxx says:

    Awesome shot just peeking out of the water…yes frigging dangerous, but probably not to you! 🙂

  6. Very fun post! Such a cool experience!

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

