Sadly

I had to make a tough decision last night that I don’t wish on anyone.

I had my midterms so my telephone was off. I was excited about how everything went and was getting my phone out to report the good news when I saw I had a few voicemails and text messages.

My heart sunk immediately. I knew something was wrong. As I listened to the messages I immediately broke down.

Teddy had been struck by a car on a busy road by my house. He was at the Emergancy Vet clinic and I was to come immediately.

When I arrived both my children met me outside in the parking lot. Jake explained to me that he had been struck by a car and his back leg was in bad shape. They had a private waiting room waiting for us.

As I entered the room I knew it wasn’t good. We passed a waiting room full of people and were brought to quiet room.

Not much time passed and the lovely doctor came in to discuss his prognosis.

“We will need to amputate his left back leg, which is okay because dogs can usually make it with three legs okay.” “But, there maybe damage to his right hind leg which would make life impossible for him” she said as calmly as possible. See she had taken X-rays already and saw a bit of damage to his spine. Could be genetic to his breed or just because of his age.

I knew at this point I needed to see him. I asked if I could and she replied, “yes”.

They took us back to this area that housed many dogs and teddy was in a bottom oxygen regulated kennel of sorts. He was bandaged up and laying down, not in much pain because he had received medications.

I kneeled down to open the small opening to pet him. He popped his head up and reached his front arm out to me. Almost in his reassuring way as he done so many times before. He just left it on top of mine as I talked to him.

So, back to the waiting room and I asked what the chances were he would be okay even with his amputation. She said slim.

I knew right then I should have him put to sleep. They got the paperwork together for me to sign. Probably the hardest piece of paper I have ever signed.

The doctor asked if I wanted to be present for the lethal injection. I said, yes. We went back to his special kennel and now they had him covered from shoulders down with a red wool plaid blanket.

She opened the door and asked if I wanted to say anything more before she gave him the injection.

I did, so much to say to him, how much I wanted to tell him I was so sorry he was hurt. How thankful I am he has been part of my life for the last ten years. Truly my best friend. He couldn’t wag his tail but I knew he could hear me.

She started the dose and I continued to pet his face and talk. He closed his eyes and went silent almost immediately. The soctor took her stethoscope and listened at his heart. “He is gone”, she said. I stood up and gave Jake and Al sometime

We found our way to the front door. Jake told me it was nice to see him go in such peace. It brought a good end to a tragedy.

I will miss my dear guy. I have posted many many times about him on my blog. He will never be forgotten.

IMG_4672

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sadly

  1. Oh, Maryam, I just cried when I read this. I am so sorry for your loss–what a sad day, and what a difficult decision. So glad you could be with him, and he could take comfort from your loving presence to the last.

  2. kanzensakura says:

    My heart goes out to you. And bless Teddy for all the good he has contributed to this word and how you have shared with us. You were truly his best friend as he was yours. My very deepest and heartfelt sympathy to you. I’m sending hugs to you and wish I could do more.

  3. cb says:

    All so familiar for me, two dogs and one cat. Old age and somewhat expected but heart wrenching nonetheless. Teddy’s accident was so unexpected.

    I am typing this with tears streaming down my cheeks. Our pets are our children, our best friends, our family. We raise them from babies and usually outlive them. Yet for all the sadness when they pass, our lives are blessed while they are with us.

  4. Leanne Cole says:

    As I read this I had to go and grab Tiddles, our cat, I know what you faced is something we will have to face in the next few years. I feel for you, and I will go now and find a tissue.

  5. SwittersB says:

    My sincerest sympathies. Teddy was a magnificent, loyal friend. I know full well how long the loss is felt. Prayers with you and family during this difficult time. Loves to Teddy!

  6. SwittersB says:

    It eases Maryam, it eases. Best wishes.

  7. JustJan says:

    I am sending you a hug! It is gut wrenching to go through. You are in my prayers!

  8. mihrank says:

    Maryam – I am deeply sorry to hear about our sad news – I am sending hugs and my support!

  9. niasunset says:

    Oh dear, I am so sorry, what can I say I don’t know. I lived this, I know your feelings. I can’t stop my tears now. But always they are with us, living in our memories, in our hearts. Love and hugs, nia

  10. I truly feel for you. One of the hardest things to do. I had to do that with my son’s Black Lab, Drexler, was badly injured, when both were about 12 years old. (they grew up together). I often wondered whether it was wise to have my son there, but I thought it would be good for him to see his dog-buddy right to the end. One of the most bitter-sweet moments. No words by any of us, at the time… just a few tears. It was peaceful, though, as Drex passed in a graceful way. Now, 12 years later, that unspoken last moment is a never forgotten experience that has become a bond that ties my son and I together, a memory that we alone share.

  11. Steve Culton says:

    Having had to make similar decisions, I truly feel your pain. I miss all of my old pets.

    On a more positive note, glad to have you back at currentseams. Go fishing and catch one for Teddy! ­čÖé

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

