Finally I Called The Stranger with A Halo

It was a phone call I wanted to make, needed to make but put it off.

I called to thank the man who hit Teddy, one month ago today.

I’m sure you are wondering why I would do such a strange thing. Why would you call the man who accidentally killed your dog?

Because I know that by the grace of God a kind man was behind that steering wheel that sad day. He could have left Teddy on the side of the road or even the middle of the toad and no one would have ever known. I live in the country and there is road kill all along these back roads. Usually skunks, opossums, birds, bunnies and am occasional car.

Instead he got out of his truck and went to the closest house to use a telephone to call the names on Teddy’s collar. Unfortunately, I was in in class so I didn’t get the first call. He drove my dog carefully in the back of his truck twenty miles away to the Emergancy Veterinary Hospital.

He waited for my son Jake to come and then he left but before he left he gave Jake his phone number.

If he hadn’t taken Teddy to the Vet I would not have had the chance to say goodbye to him. My friend.

So I made the call and reached a meek sounding older gentleman. At first confused as to why I was calling and then he remembered. He began apologizing and I asked him to not apologize for the accident. Instead for him to know how grateful I will always be for his kindness that day. He weeped and said, he knew he couldn’t just leave the dog there. He also had told me he has subsequently visited the vet hospital for a week after but no one ever told him what happened.

I again thanked him with tears now on both sides of the phone and told him he was a blessing and I hope he will never forget that. He said thank you and it meant a lot to him that I called.

An unlikely friend/ angel who I have never met but forever thankful. Bless you dear man!

IMG_2135

IMG_1208

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in GOLDEN RETRIEVER AND BORDER COLLIE, Peigahi and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally I Called The Stranger with A Halo

  1. Happy Bare says:

    Good to know that in this callous world there are still people that can stand up and do the right thing. Hugs to both of you.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

