What Has It Come To

I have never experienced hate  much in my adult life until now. 

Born in Tehran, Iran in 1968 and moved just before revolution and hostage crisis, I only got a bit of grief in grade school. Classmates lined up after school to hit me and other bad things.  After that mom pulled me and my sibs out of school for a short bit. 

I received a sideways look from time to time of someone asks me about my last name or heritage, but it wasn’t till today I noticed real hate. 


I shared on my Facebook page an article of an Iranian girl who won bronze in Taekwon do. Within five minutes of doing so, I got a message from a random person “no one cares”.  I know at that point I should not have responded, but I did and it only escalated from there. 

Then I realize I am only one amongst so many people that go through a much greater extent of this hatred.  And how sad, angry or sorry they must feel. I only got an inkling of it and it is terrible.  

Has our world really come to this?  Are there more people that hate or despise than there are those that love?  

I want to have faith in mankind, but it is dwindling away more each day.  

I am a proud Iranian, lover of people, pets, nature, peace and beauty. 

About m

new beginnings
This entry was posted in Peigahi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Has It Come To

  1. I’m sorry. The internet can be a bitter, hateful place. Don’t let people get you down.

  2. niasunset says:

    Dear M, world changed… changes… and human values are not the same… people are strange… What’s going on I can’t understand. So many things happening and none of them is good… But happens. I do hope and wish another great time will be on the earth… Don’t be sad… I can almost understand you. Blessing and Happiness, Love, nia

  3. Dear M, Facebook seems to be a place where people with no courage and no name lay claim to hate and bullying because there are no consequences. Most of us do not condone that behavior or mindset.
    It was right and proper for you to feel proud and celebratory for the Iranian girl who won the bronze medal; do not allow anonymous bullies to steal your love and joy.

    The world today possesses too many loud haters. Those who love must be vocal, must stand up and be counted. Our singing and harmony must overtake the dissonance currently making a cacophony. There is a symphony awaiting the ears of people desperate for our voices. Do not be discouraged; join with others and our sweet notes will rise.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

