Overwhelmed

I have read many blogs of people who have gone through the process of cleaning out a parents home, or a close loved one or the health problems they go through.  So I am reaching out in hopes of some advice. 

I am feeling beyond overwhelmed.  I moved my mom into an apartment about mid may and now in the process of going through her home of 42 years.  Just putting it out there plain and simple.  Her house is gross.  Beyond messy and so embarrassing to think that in the last 10 years I didn’t do more to either help her keep it up or move her sooner.  My child home at one time was absolutely beautiful and a lovely place to be. I cannot say that right now.  

So the last few days I have been trying to call her with no answer so I stopped by her apartment. She was wondering around the lobby with a somewhat dazed look on her face.  She told me she had lost her phone several days ago and was still hoping to find it.  Then upon entering her apartment I found a mess.  The curtains were off the wall.  She said the brackets came out of the wall.  She hadn’t bathed for a few days.  She was wearing the same dress I saw her in on Saturday.   

EEEEK.  I AM LOST.  I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO

About m

blessed in life. Nature lover, fly fishing enthusiast, school girl, mother, grandmother, wife, dog lover.
This entry was posted in Peigahi. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Oh so sorry. Call your local area agency on aging. If you tell me your city, I will get you the proper name and numbers. Talk to them about the situation and what her options are. She may qualify for an aide to come in and clean and bit and help her out. There are lots of options for her and you, you just need to talk the right agency, basically a social worker who specializes in aging will able to lay all the options out for you and it will help you immensely. Email if you want to give me your city and I will give you some numbers.

    • m says:

      Wow thanks Cindy. I live in Eugene Oregon. I didn’t know there were services like that available. Thank you so much.

  2. Julia Weston says:

    That was so kind of Cindy! Between the two of you, I hope you find all the support you need! Best of luck to you in this difficult situation.

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS!!! MAKE ME SMILE

